Visiting Scholars

Visits by international scholars to the UC Berkeley campus provide a nexus between the Consortium’s engagement with scholars internationally and the faculty and graduate students of the Program in Critical Theory at Berkeley, as well as the community at large. The visits of up to two weeks include public lectures and seminars at UC Berkeley and other public educational institutions in the region. The Consortium invites scholars and artists from the Global South who are engaged in public life and work on matters of shared public concern.

Past Visiting Scholars

Etienne Balibar Anniversary Chair Professor, Center for Research in Modern European Philosophy (CRMEP), Kingston University Visiting Professor, Department of French and Romance Philology, Columbia University

Verónica Gago Professor, Instituto de Altos Estudios, Universidad Nacional de San Martín and Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina

Zeynep Gambetti Associate Professor of Political Theory, Boğazici University, Turkey

Nadia Yala Kisukidi Lecturer in Philosophy, Paris 8 Vincennes-Saint-Denis University

Mahmood Mamdani Director of Makerere Institute of Social Research, Makerere University, Uganda

Vladimir Safatle Professor and Director of Research, Department of Philosophy and Institute of Psychology, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil

Marta Segarra Research Professor, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, and Professor of Gender Studies and French Studies, University of Barcelona, Spain

Akiko Shimizu Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, University of Tokyo, Japan

Enzo Traverso Susan and Barton Winokur Professor in the Humanities, Cornell University

Rocío Zambrana Associate Professor, Department of Philosophy, Emory University