Critical South

A Book Series Published by Polity Press

Critical South, a book series of the International Consortium of Critical Theory Programs published by Polity Press, aims to galvanize cross-hemispheric discussion. The series provides a chance to publish and circulate both new and established works of critical theory from the Global South. In this way, the series seeks to foster new cross-regional discussions and publications and to expand the spatial and linguistic sense of contemporary critical theory.
Critical South solicits and translates work from several regions that have not been well represented in the annals of critical thinking and that are distinguished by their promise to incite greater dialogue across several regions on issues of common concern. The series seeks to identify texts from important traditions in critical thought emerging from the southern hemisphere that have generally not entered into discussions of critical theory in English, and to translate works that have broad appeal and that can redefine the global scope and foci of critical thought for the present. The series includes major texts from Latin America (originally written in Spanish and Portuguese) and Francophone Africa and the Caribbean as well as texts written in English from Africa and South Asia. In addition to identifying major works that have yet to be translated or are unknown outside their regions, the series also commissions books from major intellectual figures in the field on topics of interest to a broad global readership. Critical South seeks not only to translate from South to North, but also cross-regionally from South to South, and to establish a pathway for scholars working in English in the Global South whose scholarship has not yet received recognition in existing series in the field.
Critical South is run by an international editorial board led by Leticia Sabsay (London School of Economics and Political Science, United Kingdom / Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina) and Natalia Brizuela (University of California, Berkeley). The editorial board includes six other scholars: Victoria Collis-Buthelezi (University of Johannesburg, South Africa), Diego Falconí (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona), Nacira Guénif (Université Paris 8 Vincennes-Saint-Denis), Poulomi Saha (University of California, Berkeley), Felwine Sarr (Université Gaston Berger de Saint-Louis, Senegal), and Françoise Vergès (Independent Scholar, France).